Tuesday, 3 August 2010

Lib Dem blog of the Year Awards

Helen Duffett launches the Lib Dem blog of the year awards over on Lib Dem Voice. Send in your nominations by email to helen@libdemvoice.org and remember to state which award category you’re nominating for, in each case.
She writes this year’s awards are as follows:

Best new Liberal Democrat blog (started since 1st September 2009)

Best blog from a Liberal Democrat holding public office (The Tim Garden Award)

Best use of blogging / social networking / e-campaigning by a Liberal Democrat

Best posting on a Liberal Democrat blog (since 1st September 2009)

Best non-Liberal Democrat politics blog

Liberal Democrat Blog of the Year

To be eligible for ‘Best blog from a Liberal Democrat holding public office’, a blog should be written by a councillor, elected mayor, assembly member, or parliamentarian.

The ‘Best use of blogging / social networking / e-campaigning award’ recognises the expanding role of both blogging and the likes of Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube in politics. It’s a deliberately open category: you might want to nominate a good campaigning YouTube video, or a particularly interesting Twitter feed.

The Best non-Liberal Democrat politics blog winner will be chosen by you, dear reader (should you choose to take part). Once the judges have chosen their shortlist, these blogs will be put up for public vote here on Lib Dem Voice.

Here’s this year’s judging panel, (who aren’t eligible to win, by the way, so please avoid nominating them):

Prateek Buch, who blogs at consider, evaluate, act

Jonathan Calder, who blogs at Liberal England

Lee Chalmers, co-founder of the Downing Street Project, leadership consultant and blogger at Lee’s random blog: Leadership, politics and women’s stuff

Ryan Cullen from Lib Dem Voice, who also runs Lib Dem Blogs and his own blog at The Artesea

Helen Duffett (that’s me) from Lib Dem Voice and also my own blog

Costigan Quist, winner of Lib Dem Blog of the Year 2009, for Himmelgarten Cafe

Mary Reid, former Kingston Upon Thames councillor, who continues to blog at Mary Reid

Jo Swinson, Liberal Democrat MP for East Dunbartonshire

Ros Taylor, Deputy Editor of the Guardian’s Comment is Free

Andy Williamson, Director of Digital Democracy at the Hansard Society

Well obviously the Birkdale blog is written by councillors and it might be of interest to you to know that the most visited posting is the one about the disintergration of Southport Tories:

Saturday, 30 January 2010
Southport Conservative Civil War-the story so far

'It is hard to keep pace with the civil war in Southport Tories. Newspaper headlines like: ‘Angry Rift leaves Town’s Tories in Crisis’, Former Tory MP backs Lib Dems, Feuding between Southport Conservatives leaves Brenda Porter's campaign in disarray, ‘Cameron puts Southport Tories in ‘Special Measures’ or Respected Tory ex Mayor Suspended, or Former Tory Leader (Tom Glover) Suspended, or 'Former Tory Leader (Les Byrom) leaves Party', they keep coming.

The full story is still worth reading

No comments:

Post a Comment

I am happy to address most contributions, even the drunken ones if they are coherent, but I am not going to engage with negative sniping from those who do not have the guts to add their names or a consistent on-line identity to their comments. Such postings will not be published.

Anonymous comments with a constructive contribution to make to the discussion, even if it is critical will continue to be posted. Libellous comments or remarks I think may be libellous will not be published.

I will also not tolerate personation so please do not add comments in the name of real people unless you are that person. If you do not like these rules then start your own blog.

Oh, and if you persist in repeating yourself despite the fact I have addressed your point I may get bored and reject your comment.

The views expressed in comments are those of the poster, not me.